AppDeployToolkit Folder

I’m an experienced app deployer with years of ZENworks experience. But I’m new to both SCCM and the PSADK. My first question is about the AppDeployToolkit folder. Does this have to be present in every app deployment folder structure? If so, how do you manage changes to the png or config files? Alternatively, is there a way to redirect to a common directory for all app deployment folders/scripts?

Thanks,

Holly

Hi,

What do you mean by png or config files? Just put the psadtk on a sub folder of each package/application and load it with somekind of . “$scriptDirectory$($Librairie.Librairie)”

Then everything will be fine and you will be in buisness. You will have to edit the config xml.

With SCCM, you will use the system account and he is not aware of the network. Even so, I am not sure it would be good to centralized the scripts as a single change would affect all computers.

Thanks

I was trying to avoid having that folder for every package. It’s not just the space (1mb), but any customizing I might do. Easily done now when I’m new and only have one or two apps, but will be a big hassle when I have 100. For instance:

1. Replacing the banner logo (AppDeployToolkitBanner.png) with our corporate logo.
  2. Changes to the config, like log file location (AppDeployToolkitConfig.xml)
  3. And I’m assuming that even updates to the product core scripts would have to be propagated to all apps.

What I’d rather do is have one location for the AppDeployToolkit folder and point all the applications scripts to it. Is that possible?

HI,

Not sure centrailize is good as if an update has bug or breack change then every package might be broken. Otherwise put them in a network share and give permissions to computers account.

Thanks,

You can do that. Simply take the contents of the application AppDeployToolkit and put them locally (after you configure it the way you want it) on your workstations.