Run VBScript or Batch file as a "Pre-Installation"

Hi,

I am attempting to simply run a VBScript or batch file from the “Files” folder using the AppDeployToolkit. The “Files” folder also contains my installation files (MSI or EXE). I would like to call a VBScript or batch file within my toolkit be either using the cscript.exe or cmd.exe commands respectively. Unfortunately I am not having much luck accomplishing this. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Justin

If it’s simple, why wouldn’t you use PowerShell. What’s the PSAPDT command you are using?

try something like this…

<code>#Run VBS
	Execute-Process -FilePath &quot;$env:systemroot\system32\cscript.exe&quot; -Arguments &quot;&lt;code&gt;&amp;quot;$dirFiles\DUMMY.vbs&lt;/code&gt;&quot;&quot; -WindowStyle Hidden</code>

Hi Brian,

This VBScript code is a prerequisite provided by Microsoft to install Internet Explorer 11. I am not a scripting expert which is why I have turned to the community for assistance. I do not know how to convert the script to PowerShell. I am hoping there is an easy way to “call” a vbs file and once complete continue on with the AppDeployToolkit.

Regards,

Justin

Hi Daniel,

Thank you! I will give this a try and provide an update shortly. Your help is much appreciated!

Regards,

Justin

Hi Daniel,

The PowerShell AppDeployToolkit will not run when adding the line of code you provided. I updated the code with the name of the vbs file for which I am running.

Justin

Hi again,

I have tried using something similar to call the VBScript file but still not working. Any ideas?

Execute-Process -Path “$envSystemRoot\System32\cscript.exe” -Parameters “$dirFiles\updatecheck.vbs”

$envSystemRoot is probably C:. I would use $envWINDIR.

Hi Brian,

I tried the following without any luck:

Execute-Process -FilePath “$envWinDir\System32\cscript.exe” -Parameters “$dirFiles\updatecheck.vbs”