Create logs under a folder matching the name of the application being installed

Hi, I’m new to using the product and in the process of trying to use PSAppDeployToolkit for some software distribution tasks.
My department has a policy where we log all application installs to a certain directory and under a folder which is named after the application.

i.e C:\Software\Logs\ “application name”

How can i do this? I know we can set custom logging for the toolkit and MSI, hoping to have it pickup the application name from the $appName variable in “Deploy-Application.ps1”

The toolkit builds the first part of its log file something like:

[string]$installName = $appVendor + ‘’ + $appName + '’ + $appVersion + ‘’ + $appLang + '’ + $appRevision

so I’m making sure to redefine those at the top of deploy-application.ps1 script before dot sourcing the toolkit for each script to separate the logs.

1 Like

I don’t think i explained that so well (sorry). I’m not really after a way to rename the log file itself more the fact creating a parent folder for all the logs to sit in based on that applications name.

i.e c:\software\logs\ “application name” \Microsoft_Notepad_123_EN_01.log

Oh I missed that part, I’ve got a few suggestions that should work for you. You can use variables in AppDeployToolkitConfig.xml:

ie: <Toolkit_LogPath>$envProgramData\YourCompany\Logs\$YourScriptName</Toolkit_LogPath>

Then you could build that $YourScriptName before dot sourcing the toolkit early in each Deploy-Application.ps1.

Another perhaps simpler option would be to rename individual Deploy-Application.ps1 files of your scripts to something descriptive of what it installs/does, then build your $YourScriptName with the file name with something like:

$YourScriptName = [io.path]::GetFileNameWithoutExtension($MyInvocation.MyCommand.Name)

Hope that helps

Thanks Johann, :slight_smile: