Prevent users from modify/repair/uninstall software via PSADT

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie to PSADT who is working with a setup.exe with no MSI alternative.

I need to get an application packaged (deployed via SCCM) so that the end user can’t modify/repair/uninstall the application from Programs and Features.

I’ve done this before via MSI/MST but just trying to find out if PSADT can achieve this somehow.

Hi,

go to your Application in SCCM, Right Click - Properties - Deployment Types - Then However you named your PSDATK - Edit - Programs - Delete the Line which is targeting your Uninstall / Modify

For example: Deploy-Application.exe UNINSTALL If you delete this, a user cannot uninstall your application, but you can no longer uninstall it yourself either

Because this is a feature of SCCM, not the PSADT.

Alternatively, you can simply comment out the Uninstall command within your script.

1 Like

Hi again,

i missunterstood your request.

If you want to prevent a User to uninstall your app via Porgrams and Features u have to delete/modify the entry of the app in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\ or equivalent

u can just delete the whole Folder or modify it to fit your wishes.

For this Case i recommend other Keys for SCCM to check if an application is installed.

I use this -for example- in my Post Installation:

[String]$appCurrentDate = Get-Date -Format "dd.MM.yyyy"		
		Set-RegistryKey -Key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SCCM_Software\$appVendor\$appName -Name 'Install' -Value $appRevision -Type String
        Set-RegistryKey -Key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SCCM_Software\$appVendor\$appName -Name 'PackageDate' -Value $appScriptDate -Type String
        Set-RegistryKey -Key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SCCM_Software\$appVendor\$appName -Name 'Publisher' -Value $appScriptAuthor -Type String
        Set-RegistryKey -Key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SCCM_Software\$appVendor\$appName -Name 'Version' -Value $appVersion -Type String