Help optimize, please

Hi all, from Halle (Saale), Germany,

i realized solution i want to share with you and hope for new impressions, code optimisations or/and maybe impressions for new functions for psadt maybe.(i like free for good :))

I did it with a planned schedule as User-GPO (executed as S-1-5-18), trigger: user logon and user delock screen, action: run some %network%\deploymentshare\maincheck.ps1. (users aren’t admin)
This code will check and if needed, first install or update the local “main-pack” (no app installer data) (especially: Is the local copy of deploy-application.ps1 older than actual productive one in %network%\deploymentshare\Main\ ? Copy !)
And at finish it starts the local copy of “main pack”
(deploy-application.exe with ServiceUI.exe from actual MDT)

Then i tooked time to play with deploy-application.ps1
I first now started to make some tests with the “install part”.
In actual architecture, ( i am no programmer, no function made actual for that (help- thanks!))
i work with, i call it “app_install_block”.
Each “app_install_block” consist the following:

1. (if not alluser-software) checks AD security group membership (maybe also computer account to double secure, and/or also useful to report %app%- %user and %computer%,
  2. (actual easy standard to check if app is “installed” in wished version)
    check if C:\Deploymentcache\%app%%version%.txt exists
  3. check if local deployment cache “C:\Deploymentcache\%app%\%version%”\* exists (if not do copy it)
  4. start local copy of new or/refresh install routine or go to next “app_install_block”
    “C:\Deploymentcache\%app%\%version%\…" (execute-msi/execute-process)
  5. write C:\Deploymentcache\%app%%version%.txt

So if some app need an update (%version%), or some new app (%app%\%version%), i only have to make some changes to the associated “app_install_block” in deploy-application.ps1 on the productive networkshare.